The Sun News Miami

Bodybuilding Championships

Rate this item
(0 votes)
The four winners in Fort Lauderdale.

The 2012 NPC Southern States Bodybuilding Championships were held in Ft. Lauderdale on July 14. A large crowd at War Memorial Auditorium watched as men competed in four main age categories. Shown in the main picture are the winners in these four categories. From left to right, the winner of the men in their 30s, 40s, 50s, and 60s. The winners were: Yano Garcia, Wilbert Lock, Robert Smith and at far right Tony Di Costa. The overall winner of the Championships was Yano Garcia.

The event featured a true superstar in the bodybuilding world: Chris Dickerson, who won the highest award of all, Mr. Olympia, in 1982. Now 72, Dickerson is shown in the photo presenting a trophy to the winner of the over-40 category.

For more information visit the website

Clifford Cunningham

Dr. Clifford Cunningham is a planetary scientist. He earned his PhD in the history of astronomy at the University of Southern Queensland, and has undergraduate degrees in science and ancient history from the University of Waterloo. In 2014 he was named a contributor to Encyclopedia Britannica. He is the author of 14 books on asteroids and the history of science. In 1999 he appeared on the TV show Star Trek: Deep Space Nine. Asteroid 4276 was named in his honor in 1990 by the International Astronomical Union based on the recommendation of its bureau located at Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics.

Add comment
  • No comments found


About Us


  • Social Media
  • Press Releases
  • Press Inquires

Media Kit

Contact Us

  • General Inquiries
  • Upload an Article
  • Social Media Directory

Sun News TV

  • Video Channels
Copyright 2013. Sun News Network, Inc. All rights reserved.

Login or Register


fb iconLog in with Facebook


User Registration
or Cancel